Confusing Treasure...at least for me

A forum for discussing the many DCC modules published under third edition rules, EXCEPT for Castle Whiterock, which has its own forum.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, Harley Stroh

welland_warrior
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Confusing Treasure...at least for me

Post by welland_warrior »

Hi there,

I'm an 1e/2e player from back in the day.

I'm new to both 3.5 and DCCs.

Having said that, I have been scanning the DCCs and am a little confused by some of the treasures. Can you help get me oriented a little bit? Here are a few examples: 2 specific and one general.

1. In DCC #0 what the heck is "Oil of Align Weapon" on page 22?
2. In DCC #35a what are the maginal properties of a "Dagger of Piercing +1" on page 20?
3. What exactly are the properties of cold iron weapons?

Thanks! :)
Jengenritz
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer

Post by Jengenritz »

I can field the two of those that refer to general rules questions.

Potions and oils all work the same...they grant a spell benefit to a person or thing (an oil is just a potion you put on something instead of drinking). Take the ever-popular potion of cure light wounds...all it really does is cast cure light wounds on the imbiber.
Oil of align weapon works just like the spell of the same name, and if there's no alignment predetermined then the user gets to pick it. You anoint a particular weapon with it, pick an alignment, and BAM! you're in the overcoming-DR business.

Cold iron weapons are expensive to create, and they have no inherent qualities BUT they often overcome the damage reduction of some creatures, like fey and some devils (or is it demons?).
Co-Author: The Almanac of the Endless Traders, DCC #13, DCC #29, DCC #49, DCC #51, DCC #52, DCC #63

Author: DCC #55: Isle of the Sea Drake, DCC #61: Citadel of the Corruptor, more to come....
welland_warrior
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Post by welland_warrior »

Ah, ok, Align Weapon wasn't a spell I was familiar with so that explains that one.